Skip to content

Oak Bay High continues arts legacy

Nominations open for second round of Distinguished Fine Arts Alumni
Six of the first inductees for the Oak Bay High Distinguished Fine Arts Alumni included, from left, Tobin Stokes, Bevan Bigalky, Alana Charlton, Dick Auchinleck, Eileen Cooper and Colin Campbell.

Oak Bay High embarked on its second call for nominations to the Distinguished Fine Arts Alumni program, which recognizes the achievements of those who have contributed to excellence in the fine arts.

There are many people who have excelled at fine arts at Oak Bay High and the school recognizes them with the Distinguished Fine Arts Legacy wall, which will be a feature in the new school set to open this fall.

Inaugural inductees last year included artists Roy Henry Vickers and Joe Average, musicians John Beckwith and Tobin Stokes, teachers Dave Dunnett, Colin Campbell, Eileen Cooper and Bevin Bigalky, patron Dick Auchinleck and builder Alana Charlton.

There are four categories for nomination: professional artists, teachers, patrons and builders. Inductees will be honoured at a public ceremony on Oct. 16 in the new Oak Bay High theatre.

Nomination forms are available at

For more information contact Jeff Weaver at or 250­‐598­‐3361.